Catalogue Finding NumberSH:7/ML/E/17/0049
Office record is held atCalderdale, West Yorkshire Archive Service
TitleDiary page
Description[Diary Transcription]

88
1834
June
L
avenue (the trees planted quite close, 6 or 8 inches distant and meeting at the top — from 3 to 4 yards wide?)
Voltaire used to walk in, and where his cabinet d’etude was (in the garden) when he to be out
of the way, and the Elm (fine tall, straight, large Elm) he planted — It was where the cabinet d'etude was that stood the mausolée or
monument that bore the inscriptions to his memory — erected by Comte de Beudet and destroyed in the
night by some people, 8 or 9 years ago, du temps Charles X and suspected to be Jesuits — on the death of Voltaire
(made a marquis by the King of Prussia) his heirs sold the ville chateau and all property to the Comte Beudet (ætatis [age of] now 86)
to whose family the property had belonged before Voltaire bought it — Voltaire pulled down the old chateau and built the
present house — the gardener told at full length the story of the désagréemen between Voltaire and Gibbon
and Gibbon’s impudence in getting to see him and their being reconciled and afterwards friends — on Voltaire’s finding
that Gibbon had succeeded by stratagem, he sent his servant after him to ask for 12 sols for having
seen the bête — Gibbon — gave 24 sols, said he had paid for twice, and would come again the next day — (he had
before written some pretty complimentary verse) so Voltaire overcome received him en ami the next day, asked
a party to meet him and they were good friends ever afterwards — After seeing the garden went to the old
gardener’s house — saw Voltaire’s cane, capital 3 little silver inkstands and book of seals, given to the gardener (when Voltaire went to
Paris the last time) because he was then the errand boy, and went to the post — this book curious — under each
seal (in Voltaire’s writing) the name and sometimes place of the owner with occasional short remarks — such as ‘fou de Lyon’ etc. etc.
put together these seals and remarks that the boy might know which letters would be received and which not —
for all the above things including the manuscript account of Voltaire’s last journey written by his secretary
our English General Cockbourne offered £150 in vain — the gardener’s children (2 married daughters? or 1 son and a
daughter?) may dispose of these things as they like — they are the old man’s living while he does
live, though he is and always has been in Comte de Beudet’s service — Off from Ferney at 4 3/4 — had been 55 minutes there — Miss Walker
bought lithograph of the chamber and chateau 3/. and little bust of Voltaire made of the garden earth, and
baked, probably at the neighbouring pottery just out of Ferney — for 1/. — offered the man a 5 franc
piece — saw he did not think it enough and gave a 2 franc piece more for which he thanked me —
Ferney a neat good ville French — the Swiss boundary is somewhere just out of Ferney — stopt at
5 10/.. at the police at the great Sacconnex a good ville or little town? and shewed my English Foreign office passport determined to
put the other 2 away — Shewed passport again on entering Geneva — left it, and they gave me a ticket
to be signed by me before receiving back my passport — all this particularly in consequence of the late
affair at Lyons — Alighted at the large, new, handsome hotel de Bergues at 5 40/..
bargained for apartment an 1er little salon and 3 single bedded rooms all looking on to the Rhone
and room for George for 12/. a day — dinner and vin ordinaire for 2 selves 8/. and breakfast for ditto (not including strawberries)
2/. servants at 8/. a day for the 2 — much better off than I expected, but the man (just come here
from Thun) saw that I knew what I was about — very handsome < bridge (angle a strong abutment against the
current) just opposite us finished only 6 weeks ago — the buildings along the Quai all new and arcaded and handsome
the town quite changed in this quarter — new and very handsome — beautiful view over the water
and to the mountains from our windows — dinner at 7 3/4 — very good — sat talking over dessert and
a bottle of Lunel of which however I only took 1/2 a wineglass, better pleased with very weak vin ordinaire
and water — before dinner we had been to the Post Office and got our letters (3 for A- [Ann]) and 1 for me dated Thursday 19 June, 3 ppages and
directed from Paris, ‘Geneve’ and written on the back, ‘Parti à Geneve en Suisse poste restante’

[margin text:] Miss Walker thought I meant to go to the top of Mont Blanc and she certainly
would go with me — the old gardener said 2 English gentlemen were lost in the
attempt last year


89
1834
June
V
ends, from my aunt Shibden — better account of herself — begs us not to hurry home — all going on well in and
out of doors — my father pretty well ditto Marian — Miss Walker of Cliff hill takes it ill never told her
of coming abroad though it had been publicly talked of so long — what nonsense! 2 of A-’s [Ann] letters from
her sister — her eyes still bad — to be confined the beginning of 8br [October] — one from Washington — Mr.
Lampleugh Hird will for 3 years give £60 for Lidgate and 17 DW [days work] — and Samuel Washington £20 a year for the remainder of the
land — Mr. Hird likely to be a permanent tenant — wants alterations for which Samuel Washington would allow £40 — advises
the agreeing — thinks the place would be well let — to pay 5 per cent for furniture on the valuation of an appraising
A- [Ann] and I do not want the Hird’s, do not accept the terms offered — Ten minutes with her tonig
ht she was tired said I was long about it that I gave her no dinky that is sseminal flow
and I excused myself and came away to my own bed — very fine day Fahrenheit 70 at 10 3/4 p.m.
all the way from Poligny, where began the ascent of the Jura, the chalets of stone, neat, pretty,
little white buildings (cottage and stabling) far too spruce and good to be as picturesque as the Swiss —

July Tuesday 1
5 10/..
11 35/..
U
U
U
No kiss see line six above — very fine morning Fahrenheit 70 1/2 at 5 1/4 a.m. — Wrote copy letter to Samuel Washington dressed — then had
A- [Ann] till 7 1/2 — she tired with talking so before breakfast and lay down for a couple of hours — wrote out yesterday
till 9 3/4 then wrote 1 1/2 page to my aunt — with Miss Walker breakfast, dawdling over, from 11 till 12 — dressed — then till 5 20/.. finished my letter 3 ppages
and ends and under the seal, and at the top of page 1, besides writing in 1 3/4 line very small quite at the top of page 1 as follows
(for my aunt to enclose to Mr. Parker) ‘Geneva. Wednesday 2 July 1834. Sir — I shall be very much obliged to you
‘to make the necessary arrangements for my not being at home till the end instead of the beginning of next
‘month — I will pay all but the £2000, immediately on my return — I am, Sir, etc. etc. etc. Anne Lister’ —
Glad to have a better account of my aunt and hear my father is pretty well — to hurry Charles Howarth to finish the north
parlour that my aunt may get into it as soon as possible — account of the journey from Paris — quite well now —
delighted with the Jura and the fine opening upon the lake of Geneva and the Savoy mountains — to be off for
Chamouni [Chamonix] on Thursday — from there to Martigny, Great St. Bernard, Aosta, little St. Bernard and return by
Cormayem [Courmayeur] — all this may take 8 or 10 days — post office more conveniently situated than the bank, so to
direct her next to me ‘poste restante, à Genève, en Suisse’ — will write again in a week, or on
our return — if my aunt waits ten days before writing to direct ‘aux soins de Messrs H. Hentsch and company
Banquiers, Genève, en Suisse' — wrote in A-’s [Ann] letter to Washington as follows — ‘Geneva Tuesday 1 July 1834.
‘Sir — Pickels is quite right — I have given no leave to anybody to cut grass in the plantation you mention,
‘if I had, I should have told him — He will proceed against the man as he (Pickels) thinks will answer best —
‘I am, Sir, etc. etc. etc. Anne Lister Be so good as hurry Charles Howarth to finish the north parlour (the low
‘room next the drawing room) that it may be ready for my aunt as soon as possible’ — A- [Ann] declines the terms proposed
by Mr. Lampleugh Hird for Lidgate (buildings and 17 DW [days work] for £60 a year and furniture on a valuation at 5 per cent for 3 years
wanting several alterations) had he offered 40/. per DW [days work] for the land and £30 for the buildings and a lease of 8 or 10 years, would have agreed — for the
furniture would not ask more or take less than £20 a year unless taking more away than thinking of at present —
several applications for Lidgate if divided — will settle nothing about it till her return — Washington offers £20 per annum for it —
we suppose there will be about 17 DW [days work] for this — had just written the above at 6 p.m. — dinner at 6 20/.. in 1 5/.. hour
A- [Ann] and I (took George) out from 7 55/.. to 9, sauntering in the town — very fine day — Fahrenheit 70 at 9 50/.. — bought little
Chamouni [Chamonix] Guide this evening — read almost the whole of it — Lay quietly by her twenty five minutes and then to my
own bed (In bed) at 11 35/.. —
DateJun-Jul 1834
Extent1 page
LevelPiece
Thumbnail

f3\8fd62a-8b3d-4757-8861-75927fb757fe.jpg

ReprodnNoteThis transcript has been created to allow keyword searching within our online catalogue. A full transcription (marked-up to show extended abbreviations and highlighting all coded extracts) can be found as a pdf version at the volume level entry SH:7/ML/E/17. Every attempt has been made to ensure the accuracy of this transcription, however, researchers are advised to check against the original diary images before quoting from the transcriptions. We are also happy to receive any corrections to improve the accuracy of the transcriptions if they are found. Further editing will also take place once the project nears completion. For further information about the transcription project see the Anne Lister Diary catalogue entry at SH:7/ML/E.
ReprodnRightsNoteIMAGE USE AND LICENSING - Individual images of Anne Lister’s diary can be used on SOCIAL MEDIA for NON-COMMERCIAL purposes at no charge with an acknowledgement to West Yorkshire Archive Service. For a Twitter or Facebook post the suggested acknowledgement is ‘Image courtesy of @wyorksarchives’. For an Instagram post the suggested acknowledgement is ‘Image courtesy of @westyorkshirearchive’. Requests for other forms of reuse or publication should be directed to the West Yorkshire Archive Service for approval. Licensing or publication fees may apply.TRANSCRIPTION USE AND LICENSING - Copyright in this transcription remains with the West Yorkshire Archive Service. Researchers are welcome to quote from the transcription and we request that they acknowledge their quotes with the words ‘West Yorkshire Archive Service, Calderdale, SH:7/ML/E/17’. For quotes on a Twitter or Facebook post the suggested acknowledgement is ‘@wyorksarchives’. For an Instagram post the suggested acknowledgement is ‘@westyorkshirearchive’. Requests for other forms of reuse or publication of this transcription should be directed to the West Yorkshire Archive Service for approval. Licensing or publication fees may apply. The web link for this transcription is https://www.catalogue.wyjs.org.uk/Record.aspx?src=CalmView.Catalog&id=CC00001%2f7%2f9%2f6%2f17&pos=1 which can be used to link directly to this transcription.
    Powered by CalmView© 2008-2024